Gateway Convention 2013

Posted: September 3, 2013 in General Gaming and Geekery, Uncategorized

Let me just say that it is totally different being a paying customer at the convention rather than having to work while there. I realized I was actually complete newbie at all the things a customer should know how to do because I had never actually done them. The first thing we were able to get into was a smashing game of Monster Island. The original rules are from Firefly Games http://www.firefly-games.com/ but the version we played was modified slightly.
IMG_20130830_170326
There were roughly 24 kaiju monsters to choose from and only six players. Benji grabbed up one of the four versions of Godzilla but I grabbed the nearest figure to me and ended up with Mecha King Ghidora.
IMG_20130830_171431

You could destroy anything on the board, including each other. There were military vehicles, rescue items and monuments of note.
IMG_20130830_170217

I thought I was clever, using my flying ability to get atop a building and take a pot shot at Destroya who rushed right in to charge a monument (which he demolished in one shot).
IMG_20130830_172720
He got out of range of my mighty lazer breath so I trooped into the center of town to confront an attack group of UFO’s who landed to try and capture the kaiju for their own nefarious purposes.
20130830_174316_LLS

20130830_174330_LLS
I was doing alright until the mother ship managed to stun me and teleport me right over in front of Godzilla. Things quickly went downhill from there.
20130830_181627_LLS

20130830_183341_LLS

I finished the game with three whole points and an epic death. It was a really enjoyable time and I know have this rule set. The hard part is going to be gathering my own collection of kaiju though I think that the MonsterPocalypse figures we have will serve for a while.

Friday evening we played in a Pathfinder game ran by my friend Casey and his compadre Bruce. This was a no frills hack and slash try to survive game. We recycled a stack of 30 character sheets 2 times between 6 players until we were finally killed off in the end. Not sure if I feel the overwhelming need to get a set of the Pathfinder rules, though the PDF is $10 so I may do that.

Comments
  1. That is pretty damn cool, I am jealous… doubly jealous!

    • nathan says:

      glad you enjoyed the game. just a heads up for anyone who wants to know i will be running it again the 9th of october at the Monstore in montclair.

Leave a Reply

